AAMG Webinar Series in Response to COVID-19

Upcoming Webinars:

Keep an eye out for the following webinars and colleague chats–we will be announcing dates and details on the listserv soon.  


Task Force Update: Toolkit for Protecting Collections from Deaccession Threats

AAMG Open Forums (colleague chats)


Looking Ahead: Fall Semester in the Era of COVID-19

AAMG Open Forums (colleague chats)  


Balancing Priorities: Budgets, Mission, and Institutional Values

AAMG Open Forums (colleague chats)  


Past Webinars:

AAMG Panel Discussion Around Issues Related to COVID-19, took place on March 18, 2020

Click here to access the PowerPoint utilized during the March 18, 2020, webinar with links to other resources.

This AAMG remote panel discussion centered around issues related to COVID-19 and academic museums and galleries. The panelists responded to questions submitted in advance in response to the question:

“What is the most important issue on your mind in relation to your institution and COVID-19?”

The panel took place on March 18, 4pm EST. The speakers were:

  • Jill Deupi
    Beaux Arts Director and Chief Curator
    Lowe Art Museum
    University of Miami
  • Tracy Fitzpatrick
    Neuberger Museum of Art
    Purchase College, SUNY
  • Elizabeth Merritt,
    Vice President, Strategic Foresight & Founding Director, Center for the
    Future of Museums
    American Alliance of Museums
  • Denise Young
    Bell Museum of Natural History
    University of Minnesota


Creative Solutions to Student Exhibitions in light of COVID-19

This panel took place on Friday, March 27, 2020 at 3pm eastern time on a topic that is critical to so many of our academic museum and gallery operations during the spring semester: How is your institution responding to student exhibitions and graduation requirements in light of COVID-19?

Panelists for this webinar were as follows:
Jamaal B. Sheats
Director and Curator of Galleries
Assistant Professor of Art
Fisk University
Student Engagement, AAMG At-Large Committee
Gabriel Harrison
Galleries & Exhibitions Manager
Department of Art & Art History
Stanford University
AAMG California State Representative
Alexandra Chamberlain
Gallery Director and Instructor
Department of Art & Design
Indiana State University
VP Communications, AAMG Executive Committee
Moderated by:
Craig Hadley
Executive Director
Dennos Museum Center
Northwestern Michigan College
Treasurer, AAMG Executive Committee

Reopening the Academic Museum Amidst COVID-19

This panel took place on Tuesday, June 9, 2020, at 2pm eastern time.

How do we negotiate reopening when many of us are the “front door” to our colleges and universities? AAMG members in various stages of reopening their spaces will discuss their plans, protocols, challenges, and opportunities for staying in line with college and university missions, and keeping visitors and staff of our spaces as safe as possible in getting back to work. We anticipate this session to be a forum for discussion and a space to work through some of these issues many of us are currently facing in reopening our own spaces. Whatever stage your space is in, we welcome you to join in on the conversation.

Speakers included:

  • Craig Hadley, Executive Director and Chief Curator
    • Dennos Museum Center
    • Northwestern Michigan College
    • AAMG Treasurer
  • Katie Lee-Koven, Executive Director and Chief Curator
    • Nora Eccles Harrison Museum of Art
    • Utah State University
    • AAMG VP – State and Regional Representatives
  • Tricia Miller, Head Registrar
    • Georgia Museum of Art
    • University of Georgia
  • Dr. Lesley Wright, Director
    • Grinnell College Museum of Art
    • AAMG State Representative (Iowa)